Follow Us:

May 2012
Zine's annual Z Awards held Thursday

If you let your lead foot lead on the road today, you might have been in luck, at least for a short time. A number of LA's finest spent the early afternoon at the annual Z for ExZellence Awards, Councilmember Dennis Zine's annual public safety personnel recognition event.

The Z Awards honor those who have shown ongoing dedication, commitment and excellence in their respective fields of law enforcement, public safety and community advocacy.

This year, the third council district recognized personnel from the Los Angeles Police Department, the City Fire Department, the Sheriff's Department, the California Highway Patrol and the Department of Probation. In addition, a citizen award was given for the first time.

David Ono of ABC news presented the awards.

Following are the Z Award recipients:

Officer Richard Comino, California Highway Patrol

Capt. Alfred Hernandez, Los Angles City Fire Department

Detective Stephanie Krajchir, Valley Traffic Division

Lt. Jill Niles, West Valley Area of the Los Angeles Police Department

Deputy Santiago Robles, Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department

Supervising Deputy Probation Officer Mary Ann Smiley, Los Angeles County Department of Probation

Investigator Rhiannon Talley-Sills, Valley Traffic Division

And the Topanga Organized Retail Crimes Unit, consisting of Sgt. Robert Schlesinger, officers Duke Dao, Marc Ferris, Matt Wortman, Bob Wronkowski, Steve Ohlrich, David Lin, Esteban Martinez and Todd Baldwin.

The citizen award went to retired Daily News columnist Dennis McCarthy, whose column shared the stories of San Fernando Valley residents and their accomplishments.



Related News

Police Data Feed